Trends and Prospects of Coal Productionand Usage in Ukraine and Globally

«TRENDS AND PROSPECTS OF COAL PRODUCTION AND USAGE IN UKRAINE AND GLOBALLY»

final programme and available materials

 

Session 1 Trends and Prospects of Coal Production and Usage in Ukraine and Globally

  • Global trends of coal production and consumption— Winds of change Brian Riketts, Secretary General, European Association for Coal and Lignite (EURACOAL) 
  • Reforming Ukraine's coal industry  Anatoliy Korzun, Deputy Minister of Energy and Coal Industry 
  • Development strategy for coal production by DTEK ENERGY mines as the basis for Ukraine's energy security  Mykhailo Barabash, Coal Production Director, DTEK Energy 
  • The situation in the Polish mining industry  Krzysztof Szlaga, President of the Management Board, Lubelski Wegiel “Bogdanka” S.A. 
  • Problems faced by miners' towns: Assessment and ways to address them  Pavlo Zhebrivsky, Chairman, Donetsk Regional Civil-Military Administration 
  • Coal industry in the context of Ukraine's new energy strategy  Volodymyr Omelchenko, Director, Energy Programmes, Razumkov Centre

Session 2 Restructuring Coal Industry: Social Dimension

Session 3 Practical Issues of Coal Mining. Future of Thermal Generation

COMMUNIQUÉ

The exploitation of available indigenous energy resources will remain the key component of Ukraine’s energy security policy. During the Conference, high-level experts and conference participants have debated in detail the role of coal and coal generation in Ukraine’s energy mix and highlighted the principal areas to be developed:

  • industry restructuring, including closure/mothballing of unprofitable state-run mines;
  • transition to self-supporting mining and re-focusing the governmental aid on ensuring technically- and environmentally-safe operation of companies;
  • elimination of the state wholesale coal buyer and introduction of coal exchange trade.
READ MORE

 

Special attention has been paid to the social element of the coal industry restructuring, including its present state, experience of European countries, dialogue with communities, international support, and future development of the sector. The measures aiming to mitigate social ramifications of the coal industry restructuring should be tightly coordinated with the programmes intended to bring social transformation to the areas affected by mine closures/mothballing. Such programmes should involve arranging public efforts to restore infrastructure, creating new jobs, providing consultations and financial support to business initiatives, setting up business incubators, and introducing temporary special economic regimes in the areas hit by mine closures.

Ukraine’s 2035 New Energy Strategy (NES) envisages that the thermal generation will retain its role in balancing the Ukrainian power grid. All the energy sector participants face common challenges: supply of energy resources (indigenous and imported), renovation of generating units, energy efficiency improvement, reduction of pollutant emissions and mitigation of the negative impact upon the environment, and Ukraine’s participation in global initiatives, notably the 2015 Paris Agreement, seeking to prevent and overcome negative consequences of the climate change.

The NES implementation is planned to achieve a more than two-fold decrease in the GDP energy intensity by 2035. This task will require high-technology solutions, substantial investment, updated legislation, and structural changes to the economy. The investment needs to be supported by reforms, easier access to the market, and transparent and streamlined legal and regulatory mechanisms. The state has to minimise its investments, while fostering an incentive investment climate as much as possible.
Globally, coal has enabled a significant improvement in the quality of life and helped ensure access to electricity. Even highly-developed countries, such as Japan and Germany, continue to heavily rely upon thermal power generation. Subject to internal and external support, Ukraine can leverage experience gained in research and development to bring together the advantages of coal usage and benefits from the adoption of new clean technologies in order to carry out the obligations it assumed as a party to the Association Agreement and a member of the Energy Community.

Proper attention to the situation in the coal sector and coal-fired generation will help Ukraine strengthen its role as a responsible European country in building up relations with the European Union in line with the Memorandum of Understanding on a Strategic Energy Partnership signed in Brussels on 24 November 2016. While recognising a special situation in Ukraine, it would be reasonable to fully embrace all the available cooperation opportunities “to reform and restructure the Ukrainian coal sector, with due regard to environmental and social aspects”.
The Memorandum envisages that the parties will agree on and execute annual plans to implement it. Incorporating the coal industry in the annual plans will ensure transparency towards the inside and outside stakeholders as far as the industry restructuring, problematic issues and ways to tackle them are concerned. This format will be a crucial component to ensuring reliable operation of the Ukrainian power system during peak load periods on the grid.

The Ministry of Energy and Coal Industry of Ukraine will play a key part in coordinating and implementing the industry restructuring policy. Pursuant to the European practices, these efforts need to rely on close cooperation and dialogue with all the relevant parties, including communities and non-governmental organisations. As shown by the experience of the European countries that have already gone through or are in the process of energy transformation, constructive and consistent efforts on the part of the Ministry and the industry will guarantee successful achievement of the NES targets with a minimum negative impact upon the social aspect and the environment.

What do you know about the future of Ukraine's energy industry?

More details

Тенденции и перспективы добычи угля, его использования в Украине и в мире

«ТЕНДЕНЦИИ И ПЕРСПЕКТИВЫ ДОБЫЧИ, ИСПОЛЬЗОВАНИЯ УГЛЯ В УКРАИНЕ И МИРЕ»

конечный вариант программы и имеющиеся материалы

 

Сессия 1. Тенденции и перспективы добычи и использования угля в Украине и в мире.

Сессия 2. Реструктуризация угольной отрасли – социальный аспект.

Сессия 3. Практические вопросы добычи угля. Будущее тепловой генерации

Коммюнике

по результатам международной конференции
«Тенденции и перспективы добычи угля, его использования в Украине и в мире»

Использование Украиной имеющихся собственных энергетических ресурсов будет оставаться ключевой составляющей политики энергетической безопасности. Во время конференции, эксперты высокого уровня и участники подробно обсудили роль угля и угольной генерации в энергетическом балансе Украины и выделили основные направления развития:

  • реструктуризация сектора, включая ликвидацию / консервацию убыточных государственных шахт,
  • переход на самоокупающуюся добычу с переориентацией государственной поддержки на обеспечение технологически и экологически безопасного функционирования предприятий, 
  • ликвидация государственного оптового покупателя угля и внедрение биржевой торговли угольной продукцией.
ПРОЧИТАЙТЕ БОЛЬШЕ

 

Особое внимание было привлечено к социальной составляющей реструктуризации угольной отрасли, включая текущее состояние, опыт стран Европы, диалог с общинами, международную поддержку и будущее развитие сектора. Комплекс мероприятий по смягчению социальных последствий реструктуризации угольной промышленности должен выполняться в тесной связи с программами социального переустройства регионов закрытия / консервации шахт. Такие программы должны включать организацию общественных работ по восстановлению инфраструктуры, создание новых рабочих мест, консультативную и финансовую поддержку предпринимательской инициативы, создание бизнес-инкубаторов, введение временных специальных режимов экономической деятельности в районах закрытия шахт.

Исходя из новой Энергетической стратегии Украины до 2035 года (НЭС), тепловая генерация сохранит свою роль в балансировании работы энергетической системы Украины. Перед всеми участниками энергетического сектора возникают общие вызовы: обеспечение энергетическими ресурсами (собственные и импорт), переоборудование блоков, повышение энергоэффективности, снижение выбросов загрязняющих веществ и негативного воздействия на окружающую среду, участие Украины в глобальных инициативах, в частности в Парижском соглашении 2015 г., направленных на предупреждение и преодоления негативных последствий изменения климата.

В результате реализации задач НЭС планируется достичь снижения энергоемкости ВВП более чем в два раза до 2035 г. Реализация этой задачи потребует высокотехнологичных решений, значительных инвестиций, обновления законодательства и структурных изменений в экономике. Основанием для инвестиций должны быть реформы, упрощение доступа к рынку, прозрачность и совершенствование правовых и регуляторных механизмов. Государство должно минимально инвестировать, но максимально способствовать формированию стимулирующего инвестиционного климата.

Благодаря углю удалось значительно улучшить уровень жизни и обеспечить доступ к электроэнергии в мире. Даже для высокоразвитых стран, таких как Япония и Германия, тепловая генерация продолжает играть заметную роль. Украина, используя опыт, накопленный в сфере исследований и разработок, при внутренней и внешней поддержке может совместить преимущества использования угля с внедрением новых чистых технологии для выполнения обязательств, принятых в рамках Соглашения об ассоциации и членства в Энергетическом Сообществе.

Должное внимание к ситуации в угольном секторе и угольной генерации укрепит роль Украины как ответственной европейской страны в углублении отношений с Европейским Союзом в соответствии с подписанным в Брюсселе 24 ноября 2016 Меморандумом о взаимопонимании относительно стратегического энергетического партнерства. Признавая особую ситуацию в Украине, целесообразно в полной мере использовать все предусмотренные возможности в сотрудничестве «по реформированию и реструктуризации угольной отрасли Украины, уделяя должное внимание экологическим и социальным аспектам ее функционирования».

Меморандум предусматривает согласование сторонами и выполнение ежегодных планов по его реализации. Включение угольной отрасли в ежегодные планы позволит обеспечить прозрачность перед внутренними и внешними стейкхолдерами относительно реструктуризации отрасли, проблемных вопросов и путей их решения. Такой формат будет важным дополнением к обеспечению надежной работы энергетической системы Украины в течение периодов пиковой нагрузки на систему.

Министерство энергетики и угольной отрасли Украины будет играть ключевую роль в координации и внедрении политики реструктуризации сектора. Согласно европейским практикам, такую работу целесообразно проводить в тесном сотрудничестве и диалоге со всеми причастными сторонами, включая общины и негосударственные организации. По опыту стран Европы, которые уже прошли или проходят процесс энергетической трансформации, конструктивная и последовательная работа Министерства и представителей отрасли, будет залогом успешной реализации целей НЭС с минимальным негативным воздействием на социальный аспект и окружающую среду.

Спецпроект: Борьба за активы на ОРДЛО

подробнее